Taking Life One Day at a Time

From Here on Out…

on August 26, 2011

“Reaching for something in the distance, so close you can almost taste it. Release your inhibitions…Live your life with arms wide open. Today is where your book begins. The rest is still unwritten.”

The fall semester has officially started once more however this time I’m watching from the outside in. Yup that’s right, I’m not taking any classes this semester. Not because I don’t want to, that’s definitely not the reason. Even with being a little saddened on how this semester has turned out, it’s kind of cool to have the “doctor’s orders” in NOT taking/going to school. You read correctly, my doctor told me that it would be beneficial for me to not have to go to school this semester and to continue allowing my brain/mind to recuperate and heal. It’s been a little over a month now since my whole concussion episode and amazingly enough I have healed considerably but not yet back to 100% myself. Therefore when I work my mind too much or cause myself too much tension, I then provoke a headache and give myself a restless night. Have you ever heard the sayings, “if your head hurts that means that you’re actually working it;” then there’s the other phrase “my head’s working so much that I literally feel it humming.” That’s literally how my head feels; if you’d put your hands on my head when I have a headache, you’d feel a pulsing sensation against your hands from my head and the rhythm of a thumping imitation. Sadly, my restless nights continue…I’m starting to worry that they might actually be getting worse…something I’ll have to make a note of and tell my doctor later, otherwise my family is still unaware of the situation. And no it’s not because I’m lying to them in anyway, I’m just keeping information from them since I’m still under observation. If it should get worse then I know I’m going to have to tell them the situation. Which reminds me-just a real quick interjection here.

If you live with other family members or more specifically your parents, then don’t withhold information about your health from them. For those of you thinking that the above is in contradiction with what I’m now stating, you’re wrong. You see the above is a minor symptom from the main cause (the concussion) WHICH they know ALL about and I’ve explained it all to them from that day to present day. So not the same thing and don’t bother trying to deter me or my topic…The only reason why I’m making a point of stating that you should tell them your family all about your health is because, whether you believe it or not, there are always moments in our lives where another has to take care of us and how are they supposed to help you to the best of their abilities unless they are aware of what your physical health is like. An example being: when you go to the doctor, do you tell him/her half truths of what’s wrong with you or do you elaborate, explain, and “bare out your soul” so to speak so that they can find the best remedy for what ails you? Now, don’t lie to yourself and say no because EVERYONE knows that everyone tells the doctor exactly what’s going on. So take that but instead place your family member in the place of the doctor and the only reason why you should is because there are circumstantial events that will require another person to mediate for you to the doctor or even before seeing the doctor. I doubt I have to point out the places where this could occur- ER, urgent care, ambulance, etc. Just a thought to mention…

Back to the topic at hand! So the academic life for me is at a stand still, but I suppose I’m going to make the most of it in the meantime. Speaking of meantime! Well the promotion at work has been officially finalized and it’s been one heck of a change at work. I’m caught in between whining and groaning now so I’m going to suck it up and make the most of what’s been going on and just mention that, I love what I do and the opportunities are definitely presenting themselves.

With all the above being said I’ve decided to literally take life one day at a time without thinking/imagining too far ahead. Enjoying my time and improving things I’m involved in as well as personally. Maybe this will be my time for personal reflection and meditation, in a sense. You know how some people say “I need time to find myself?” I’ve never done that nor believed in that method; always and still think to this day that it’s a waste of time. Have you ever taken the time to “find yourself?” If so, did it work and/or what did you do? Others who think along the same lines I do, why do you think like that?

I seemed to have babbled enough for this post…until next time!

Yours truly,

A Young Adult

Leave a Reply

