Taking Life One Day at a Time

Friday, July 22, 2011

on July 22, 2011

Hello and Happy Friday everyone!

And how have you been? It’s been a while for me, since the last time I’ve written to you. How was your week this past week? Do anything special or were you bored? Well for those of you who had a bad week I hope it gets better for you, since it is FRIDAY! 🙂 Make plans even if small and enjoy your weekend. Do something that will make you smile and laugh; everyone needs to have that moment of a care free feeling.

So this was my week back to reality. Monday was my last official day of bed rest, after my whole concussion episode. Tuesday was my first day back at work and also trying to see what to do about my summer classes at the college. I’m off the meds and am now just dealing with the constant head pain (that comes and goes from severe to just a pulsing head pain) and slight nausea with on occasion memory problems. Thankfully, I’m not as bad as other cases I’ve heard so I’m hoping to be back to normal soon. Next Tuesday is my follow up appointment with the doctor and I’m hoping that she’ll clear me for getting back to my workout routine, because this whole “just walking” bit just isn’t doing it for me! It’s going to be two weeks that I’ve done NOTHING! Of course I don’t want to just get “back on the saddle” since  don’t want any repercussions since it’s been said that once you get a concussion you’re “now susceptible to having them.” I know I shouldn’t complain since I’m feeling more like myself but I can’t help but feel…off or still on occasion “loopy.” Almost as if I’m unaware of where I am or what I’m even doing. That is something I’m not liking…I just have to be patient with myself. I’m kind of glad thought that my mood swings have gone back to normal or more like not even having them-which reminds me, did you know that “mood swings” are a huge symptom of a concussion? I definitely didn’t know! Any of you reading this post, ever had a concussion? If so, what were some of your own personal remedies that were helpful?

As for the academic portion of my life…well let’s just say that God was definitely on my side because this week (more specifically today) was the last day to withdraw from Summer III classes. So if I hadn’t contacted my professor and counselor Tuesday and Wednesday, I would have had a serious dent in my academic profile due to this concussion. Thankfully, everything was done in time, I took care of everything yesterday, I’ve already registered for my Fall semester, and have made my first payment. Hopefully this small academic “vacay” will allow my mind to re freshen before the semester even begins…

Sorry everyone, I’m kind of blank on actual topics to write so all I could do was bring you up to date on what’s going on from my end. I hope you have a great weekend otherwise and stay tuned to see what else I write 🙂

Yours truly,

A Young Adult

Leave a Reply

