Taking Life One Day at a Time

Thursday, June 30, 2011

on July 6, 2011

“I’ve learned that the best classroom in the world is at the feet of an elderly person.”

Today is my grandparents anniversary (on my mom’s side). So many years together and yet it always amazes me how much love and emotions can be seen by the two individuals…I’m not sure what’s planned for them but hopefully something that involves everyone, because they’ve mentioned to us that all they ever need “is to see the entire family together.” Of course it’s in Spanish but you get that idea, or at least I hope you get the gist/idea of what they mean.

I have to say thought that I don’t know how my grandfather does it! Because I love my grandmother and respect her yet…she is one pill I can never swallow! Then again I should probably keep my mouth shut, since I have no clue how I’ll be when I get older. But it’s always entertaining to see their interactions…my grandfather is always watching over her, taking care of her, and even holding himself in check when she’s beyond wrong and out of place. He’s one patient man with so much discipline.

The only reason why I chose this quote, especially today, is due to the fact that I’m noticing that every day that passes my grandparents seem to get quieter and quieter…The older generations will always have more knowledge, comprehension, and wisdom so it’s best to learn from them as well as hear all their stories before time runs out. All they really want is someone to listen to their stories because they want to share their experiences and knowledge just like we would…Wouldn’t you regret not asking or talking about a specific topic/subject with an older relative?

Yours truly,

A Young Adult

Leave a Reply

