Taking Life One Day at a Time

Thursday, May 12, 2011

on May 13, 2011

“Life is a journey and there’s no predicting the outcome.”

If you saw this past week’s episode of Castle, then you should know that the quote above comes from that episode. I have to say that I’m definitely anxious for the season finale; I really want to know if it will leave me suspenseful for the next season.

Well the whole reason I like the quote was because it was relevant to some deep contemplating I was doing this past week. Have you ever had one of those days where you’re just centered with all the thoughts and ramblings going on in you head? Or perhaps you’ve had a moment where your physically present in a group yet your mentally far away, tuned in with all the thoughts whirling around in your head? I better continue with my topic before I lose you to my mental ramblings :p wait a minute…I honestly don’t know now, where I was going with this…oh well.

Meanwhile, I do want to right about something special and particular. So I was put in a strange position two weeks ago. If you’d read one of my previous posts about my grandfather then you can relate this to that event. You see, with my grandfather being ill and disoriented as of late, my mother has showed a more vulnerable side; one I didn’t think I’d see, at least until a long time anyway. Her and I were alone and talking, then out of nowhere she asks, “why do you think God’s doing this? He’s a good man and out of everyone I know even in our own family, he’s never done nor thought anything wrong.” I knew right away she was talking about her dad (my grandfather). At that moment, I don’t know, I felt as if I were the parent and she were a child. So I said the best things that could come to mind, realizing later that what I mentioned to her was exactly what I believed. So this is what I answered:

“Don’t look at it in a negative way, think optimistically. In case you haven’t noticed, he’s the most healthy person in our entire family, even for his age, and even for his age his doing what other elderly people would wish to be able to do. He has no physical illnesses (thank God) nor does he have the usual diseases or illnesses that the elderly are diagnosed with-I mean look at his wife and my dad’s mom, they’re always in some sort of pain or having joint problems. Personally, I think its better for him to have what he has [knowing that it might go away in time even if a LONG TIME.] Of course, granted that he sleeps most of the time, but isn’t that what everyone wants-to be able to die in your sleep. Maybe this is how it’s meant to be. Maybe, whenever his time comes, he’ll leave peacefully.

So now here’s my question to you: Have you ever felt or been put in the position that someone you think as wiser/more experienced/older asks you for advice/your opinion? Have you ever switched roles with your parents even if emotionally? The example being what I mentioned above…And lastly, what do you do or end up doing?

Leave a Reply

