Taking Life One Day at a Time

Wednesday, April 27, 2011

on April 29, 2011

If you recall, Monday had a “Fact or Fiction” question for you; “Does lightening strike the same place twice?” The answer to that question is…FICTION. Lightening has “favorite spots” or designated areas that may be hit many times during a storm.

Now I’ll leave you with another one: Is it true that people struck by lightening carry an electrical charge and should not be touched?

So today is my mom’s birthday. Happy Birthday Mom!! 🙂 Things are a little difficult since it’s not just the four of us (my dad, sister, mom, and I) celebrating her birthday-which don’t get me wrong-it’s nice when all the family is together but usually the family gathering is until the weekends, so doing anything particularly special for her is out of the question. A lunch date for her birthday was done with the attendance of my sister, dad, and grandparents. It was nice altogether except for me being busier at work than usual and leave to lunch later, then having a longer than intended phone call, which made me arrive late to the table at the restaurant. But all was well 🙂 At least I thought so…I find out late in the afternoon that my entire family will be getting together at our house to celebrate my mom’s birthday; I’m glad and that’s wonderful but I know I wouldn’t be there because of my night class…This was the first year that I literally missed my mother’s birthday and I couldn’t do anything to change it. I had to attend class with finals coming up and to top it off since it’s history, I knew if I missed class I’d lose more information on lecture and on anything pertaining to class assignments and the final coming up. As I’m recording the class (about 9pm already) I notice that my phone has a text message from not only my sister but from one of my uncles as well. Their wanting to know if I’m gonna be able to get out of class so that they can cut the cake…if I was feeling worse before, at that moment I felt like someone had just punched me! I wasn’t there for my mom’s birthday, even after everything she’s done and her always being there for me…

So let me ask you this: What would you have done in situation if you couldn’t miss class and it was someone’s birthday, someone special for you, birthday? How would you have handled the situation?

Yours truly,

Young Adult

Leave a Reply

